As It Is or As I Am – the Art of Becoming

A journey … towards … being

Peaceful, quiet, serene

On an LDS Young Mens camp this week. With no computer access am emailing this blog entry from my phone. Seems I view the blog but not update it. Be interesting to see if emailing works, if the formatting looks ok.
Everyone else has left for church, leaving me in charge of the camp site. I’ve done this the past several years. I quite enjoy the peaceful, quiet time. A kind of serenity. Did some small chores as requested. Some scripture study. Read chapter of “Without Buddha I could not be a Christian”. Paul F. Knitter introduces the “Four Noble Truths”:
1. Suffering comes up in everyone’s life.
2. This suffering is caused by craving.
3. We can stop suffering by stopping craving.
4. To stop craving, follow Buddha’s Eightfold Path (which consists essentially of taking Buddha’s message seriously, living a moral life by avoiding harm to others, and following a spiritual practice based on meditation).
One sentence toward the end of the chapter gives me greater insight towards life: ‘Loving others, therefore, is not a question so much of “doing God’s will” but, rather, of “living God’s life.”‘ I guess being as God or Christ would be. Sent using BlackBerry® from Orange

Leave a Reply

