As It Is or As I Am – the Art of Becoming

A journey … towards … being

X-Factor – you get what you deserve

Since yesterday evening have seen many postings on twitter and facebook of people traumatised by Simon Cowell not taking a stand and voting off Jedward, the Twins, letting things rest on the public vote.  Isn’t that what X-Factor is about, the public phoning in to vote for a particular act? It’s supposed to be a public voting show, so why not let the public decide? I’ve watched the programme and can’t see why people get so upset by the results.  It’s TV, not real life. Sure real people are singing, but they know what they’re letting themselves in for. Don’t they?

What I’d like to see is how many people vote for each act.  Not just, this act came first, this one second, etc.  Same for all phone in shows – e.g. “Strictly Come Dancing”, “I’m a Celebrity, Get Me Out of Here”, “Big Brother” though I think that one has been finally dropped, etc.   Maybe there is  clue in that – if we don’t watch it or phone in to vote, it will get dropped.  Maybe there is some ruling? If there is, should be changed so we know how many people actually phone in.  Is it the millions that we are told or just a few thousand or even only a few hundred or less?

I take heart, well, no, I’m actually afraid for the future of TV in the UK, when I paraphrase Tocqueville: “In a democracy, the people get the TV programmes they deserve.”  If people keep on phoning in to vote on these programmes that’s all we’ll end up with!!  Scary indeed.  Am I complaining about these types of programmes, well, yes ,I guess I am.  But, what really worries me is that some people seem to take it all so seriously.  Sure some of the postings are just for fun, but some people really do seem really traumatised by it all!

One response to “X-Factor – you get what you deserve

  1. Morton Knotts 8 January, 2010 at 01:42

    I read that he that he wanted do a Eastenders cameo Lol. Not sure how true this is, has anyone else heard it? There’s a part of me that kind of wishes this is true lol.

Leave a Reply

