As It Is or As I Am – the Art of Becoming

A journey … towards … being

A further journey into London

Yesterday I mentioned going to the wrong destination. Did it matter? I’d say no, as was easily able to catch up with the course.

What made the wrong destination right for me was the opportunity it gave to experience others kindness. Arriving at reception at the wrong place the young lady behind the desk was really helpful. No jokes or put downs. Just explaining where I should be, the nearest tube to get there and offers to call where I should be to let them know I was on my way. Really kind. Then when I exited the tube station near my destination I asked a lady selling flowers which way to go. She was also very kindly explained to go left and I’d see the building at the end of the road. This I did.

On the tube back this evening heard a tinny sound coming from the headphones of a young man. He had them turned up very high. At the same time he looked asleep as his head rolled, gently swaying with the train motion. Felt like waking him up to explain I and perhaps others didn’t wish to listen to his music, plus if he was sleeping did he need it on anyway. Reminded of a scene from a Star Trek film. Set in the 1980s, Captain Kirk and Spoke are on a bus. A young man is playing his ghetto blaster as high volume. He is asked to turn it down or off. He refuses the request turning the volume higher. Spoke then reaches over giving the Vulcan hand grip, causing the young man to collapse, causing the ghetto blaster to turn off as he does so. Round of applause from the other passengers. Wouldn’t it be nice …

Leave a Reply

