As It Is or As I Am – the Art of Becoming

A journey … towards … being

Seeing clearly

Below is a scripture, found in what is commonly known as the Sermon on the Mount, recorded in both the Bible and the Book of Mormon. Why quote it here? For me there is relevance to counselling. Please, be patient, indulge me and read on 🙂

Matthew 7:3-5 / 3 Nephi 14:3-5
And why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother’s eye, but considerest not the beam that is in thine own eye? Or how wilt thou say to thy brother: Let me pull the mote out of thine eye—and behold, a beam is in thine own eye?
Thou hypocrite, first cast the beam out of thine own eye; and then shalt thou see clearly to cast the mote out of thy brother’s eye.

Carrying on from yesterday the idea of seeing without distortion. A mote is a very small particle of wood dust. A beam is, well, a beam of wood. So the size comparison is huge. The mote tiny, the beam enormous. Until my beams are removed I am unable to see well enough to help another who has a mote wanting to be removed. How does this relate to counselling?

For me it brings forward the idea of the “wounded healer”. The counsellor offers him/herself as a healer, often having been wounded in their past. The wound is like the beam. Until the beam is removed or the wound healed, the counsellor is not fully able to be present to help remove the mote or help heal another. Until dealt with, my past pains or beams, interfere with my ability to fully be with, to have, to use Dave Mearns phrase, relational depth, with a client.

As I meditate on this scripture it doesn’t say you can’t help with a mote in your eye. For me an indication I may never get rid of all hindrances and distractions with my vision. If, though, I deal with my beams, even though some motes remain I can be “good enough” to assist others in their healing.

I would add that discovery and healing of a beam is not the end. Through personal counselling/therapy and supervision further beams (of varying sizes) will no doubt be discovered for removal and healing. This becomes a life long process.

Leave a Reply

