As It Is or As I Am – the Art of Becoming

A journey … towards … being

Surprised by grief

Yes, I know this post’s title is the same as a book by CS Lewis. But I am surprised by my grief. Last September my father died. This Tuesday my father-in-law died. The last few days have been with my wife and her mother helping with various things. It has brought back most of my emotions experienced when my Dad died. This time there seemed to be an almost physical heaviness. Last night my arms felt weighed down. Having read how one grief can bring back a previous grief, I now know the reality of that. Yet, admit to holding back some of the tears. A saying, from a lady from Sierra Leone, that you should never show more grief than someone currently in grief comes back strongly to mind. We drive home tonight. Perhaps we can cry together.

Leave a Reply

