As It Is or As I Am – the Art of Becoming

A journey … towards … being

The NHS and an overnight stay

After posting my concerns regarding the privatisation of the NHS yesterday had the opportunity of experiencing it. I mean the NHS as it currently stands, not its privatisation.

Having had a stomach upset overnight my the morning was too dehydrated, causing my ketones to be raised.  NHS direct said to go straight to A&E. Once there was seen quickly. To me it felt ages as the symptoms of high ketones and dehydration continued.

Ended up staying overnight.

The point of this post is not to relate my health as a diabetic, rather the greatness of the NHS. Wonderful  staff – doctors, nurses, porters, etc. I’m sure staff at a private hospital would be as good. So what is wrong with privatisation of the NHS?

It feels wrong. Of course that is not necessarily a good reason. Some say its inefficiency is rife. Possibly. If so it still does its job. Again, I quote “the love of money is the root of all evil”.  If its all about saving money what a sad world we live in. If everything has to have a monetary value placed on it, I worry greatly. Yes, our taxes pay for it, so one claim is we’d pay less taxes if the NHS was run efficiently by private companies. Firstly, I don’t believe that would happen – taxes would stay the same. Secondly, could private companies run the NHS more efficiently – maybe a little, but large companies tend to be inefficient. So don’t really believe that supposed benefit.

Yes, I’m prejudiced. Facts and figures don’t convince. I’m not sure what would. Is it a trust issue? Not that I trust politicians much, but large private corporations I trust even less.

2 responses to “The NHS and an overnight stay

  1. Jingye 19 July, 2010 at 13:02

    Hope you are feeling better now, N.
    We are throwing away good things when other countries including US is slowly waking up to it.
    NHS – it may not be the best cost/benefit solution, but it is *BETTER* than any other national heath care systems.
    BBC – don’t get me started it…

    • Neil 19 July, 2010 at 15:32

      Who mentioned the BBC? I personally think the BBC is great. Perhaps though the funding needs looking at. There are a great number of ways it serves the community. Ever looked at http://www.BBC.co.UK/bedroom?

Leave a Reply

