As It Is or As I Am – the Art of Becoming

A journey … towards … being

Krista Tippett: Reconnecting with compassion

Not much to add to this TED talk.  Compassion is key. Compassion in our families, in counselling, in work, in play .. . is there anywhere we should not have compassion?

Well worth the 15 minutes 53 seconds of your time to listen and watch.

2 responses to “Krista Tippett: Reconnecting with compassion

  1. UnmotheredChild 19 February, 2011 at 07:21

    Thank you for sharing this. For me compassion is Empathy. And empathy can only come through wanting to understand the other. When I understand the other, I can feel compassion for them. If I dont understand where they are coming from, what its like to be them, I wont be able to feel empathy, no compassion. Thats just my opinion.

    Ps, religion should not be allowed to use the word compassion. It is religion that starts wars and kills.

  2. Neil 19 February, 2011 at 20:50

    Yes, empathy and compassion must go together. But, which goes or comes first? I wonder if it’s like the chicken and egg question? Did the chicken come first or the egg? I see them feeding into each other. Without compassion it’s hard, if not impossible to have empathy. Conversely, without empathy it’s hard, if not impossible to have compassion. The more compassion I have, the more empathy I have. The more empathy I have, the more compassion I have. I see them feeding into each other, in an ever upward spiral. Sure there will be hiccups along the way. But, generally the path will be upward.

    I’m curious over your PS that religion should not be allowed to use the word compassion. I acknowledge, as you say, religion starts many wars and therefore kills. So that for me means religion needs to have compassion and lots more than perhaps it does. Is it not the lack of compassion and lack of empathy with others that perhaps caused the wars and killing?

    Capitalism also causes wars. But, that’s another post …

    Maybe you mean use the word compassion in a different way?

Leave a Reply

