As It Is or As I Am – the Art of Becoming

A journey … towards … being

Poem

How can I put all these words to rhyme?
Is it by lines, one then another, line by line,
First one letter, then another, by and in time,
If a verse is ever concluded, is that a sign?

It’s only a small thing, not much to worry,
Yet, deep down this small, little “IT” word …
I wonder if inside you wish to say sorry?
Do you feel, have you really been heard?
To who would that be? You, them or me?
No, please, there is no need to apologise,
Surely, the other way round, should it be?
As this small “IT” grows and grows in size,
One day it will explode and finally set you free!!
Enabling you then to throw away all those lies.
Freeing yourself, is that what you really desire?
Or do you feel safer enclosed by an unknown fear.
Tears will flow, quenching the inside burning fire,
Strength flows, to your real self you become near.

8 responses to “Poem

  1. eliza keating 12 March, 2011 at 09:55

    this was a very touchung piece of writing, so pleased I came across your posts…Eliza Keating

    • Neil 12 March, 2011 at 16:18

      Hi Eliza – that’s actually the first poem I’ve written in years, that I’ve made public. Really appreciate your comments. I wonder if I’ll write more now? Had a look at your blog – you seem to have a gift for poetry. Keep writing! Neil

  2. Pingback: Alimentum Poems | marianaromocarmona

  3. Unmothered Child 2 May, 2011 at 11:54

    Thank you for sharing your poem Neil. I write poetry myself but am not brave enough to share it. I was just wondering who the person is you speak of in the poem.
    UC

  4. Neil 3 May, 2011 at 08:06

    Hi UC.
    It is not really one person. The poem was prompted by a recent client, though is really a composite person of all the clients seen over the past 2 years. Does that make any sense?
    Neil.

  5. Unmothered Child 3 May, 2011 at 08:28

    Ah yes. Makes sense 🙂

  6. Neil 3 May, 2011 at 08:31

    I’m debating with myself whether to comment on a recent post on your own blog.

  7. Pingback: Alimentum Poems « writingatnight

Leave a Reply

