As It Is or As I Am – the Art of Becoming

A journey … towards … being

Get Bigger Than What’s Bugging You!

The below links are to PDFs that were created by Ann Weiser Cornell. Ann has created a 5 day e-course, which as the title suggests results in you getting an email once a day for 5 days.  Each day builds on the next.  Ann has kindly said they PDFs can be shared, so long as they are not altered in any way.  They are in their original form.  Once this post is made, I will be emailing Ann with the link in case she disapproves.  If she does this post will be removed.

The general idea is connected with the title of one of Ann’s books: The Radical Acceptance of Everything: Living a Focusing Life – where she expresses an idea very similar to Carl Roger’s words: “The curious paradox is that when I accept myself just as I am, then I can change.”  Ann’s words being: “When you accept yourself, your whole life changes.”

Day 1 – …… something in me is (or feels) ……

Day 2 – …… and I’m saying hello to that ……

Day 3 – …… and I’m placing a gentle hand over it ……

Day 4 – …… and I’m sensing ……

Day 5 – …… and no wonder ……

Give each day a try. As said they build on each other.  So, start with Day 1, then Day 2 and so on.  By the time you get to Day 5 most will experience some change they have been looking for.  I’d be very interested in any feedback, as to how anyone experiences things – good, not so good or nothing at all.  Where some clients  requested something specific they could try, have suggested these steps and for many there have been significant changes.

Another of Ann’s books I posted on last year.

Edit: Just had email from Ann giving permission to use her PDFs.

3 responses to “Get Bigger Than What’s Bugging You!

  1. Elmar 31 May, 2011 at 17:35

    Hi Neil,
    there are also lots of articles in Ann’s online library . It’s all about creating and deepening Inner Relationship. First things appear as “problems” or “objects”, they seem to be static. Later on – with more contact to “it” – a Felt Sense emerges and things change just through acceptance, and being with it. And even if I am complete now will there always be a next step (No “problem” required 😉
    The “Getting Bigger” Ecourse shows how relationship is being developed in Inner Relationship Focusing:

    – Day 1: Creating Distance AND Connection (see her article on that topic), which is summarized in the concept of self-in-presence (see An Invitation to Presence, PDF)
    – Day 2: The first thing to do in a new relationship: Making Contact or “Saying Hello”, “Acknowledging its there”. Relationship is what it’s all about; but not too fast … and not trying to be too friendly 🙂
    – Day 3 and 4: Sensing it, Being with it, Describing it. The motor of Focusing process; and
    – Day 5: Empathy: No wonder. There is new information, understanding, communcation. The Felt Sense comes (bit by bit) alive.

  2. Neil 4 June, 2011 at 21:52

    Hi Elmar,
    Appreciate your reply. thanks for the links. I’ve been browsing Ann’s site for some time now. But had never come across the “invitation to presence” article”. Just finished reading it. Given me more enthusiasm for Focusng. As my blog may indicate I’ve nearly completed my diploma in person-centred counselling. I next intend to study Focusing more, so that I become able to bless clients more fully.
    Neil.

    • Elmar Kruithoff 6 June, 2011 at 16:05

      Hi Neil,
      sounds great 🙂 What I love about Focusing is that it is such a pure and clear space that one creates for oneself and for each other. And that it CAN be used in therapy – but not solely but in many other fields (Here is an amazing example from Afghanistan)! Actually, learning Focusing was quite a relief for me from “helping” others, too 😉 I heard from many people that they also found Ann’s mp3’s really helpful, maybe that’s interesting for you too.

Leave a Reply

