As It Is or As I Am – the Art of Becoming

A journey … towards … being

The Curious Paradox – a poem

The Curious Paradox

can I accept myself just as I am, so then I can change?
to do such, seems unlikely, to accept something so strange …

perhaps, though, if you can accept the strangeness I feel within,
the silliness, the faults, the weirdness, the wrongs I feel, even the sin,
real or imagined, felt or imposed, they all lie within,

myself … just as I am,
as you accept me as I am,
so I am able to accept myself just as I am

as you listen, as you accept me, just as I am
as you feel as I feel, just as I am,
at least, a possibility of change becomes real,
thus change encircles me as I heal,
as I embrace you fully in return,
together we change, as from each other we learn
as, both of us, the healing encircles,
changes come, as unrecognised miracles

so then I change?
so then we change?

one type of strange,
to another type of strange
to yet another type of strange,

from a moth, to a chrysalis, to a butterfly,
from where I was, to where I am, to where I will be,

yes, for as was once written:

“The curious paradox is that
when I accept myself just as I am,
then I can change.”

so then will change come?
yes, if … you desire
yes, if … we desire
yes, if … I desire

Leave a Reply

